Dover special election to follow in wake of Hosfelt’s Levy Court win

Jim Hosfelt

DOVER — The City of Dover will hold two elections to establish its city council membership.

On April 18, the general municipal election will determine council members in five seats, though two incumbent candidates are running unopposed.

Within 31 to 60 days of councilman Jim Hosfelt’s coming move to Levy Court, the city will also hold a special election to fill his 1st District seat.

Mr. Hosfelt was elected as Kent County Levy Court 2nd District commissioner Tuesday night. The Levy Court’s next regular meeting is at 7 p.m. Tuesday, March 28.

Mr. Hosfelt’s swearing-in will start the clock for the city holding its special election for his council seat.

The city voter registration deadline for the April election is 4:30 p.m. on March 31. For more information on registration, go online to or call the Department of Elections at 739-4498.

Information on the election and absentee voting process is online at elections.

City council is expected to determine a candidate filing date for the special election, and election date, and its regular meeting on Monday. Also, a candidate to replace Mr. Hosfelt as chairman of the Safety and Transportation Committee and Police Chief Seach Committee member will be introduced. The City of Dover estimated a special election for one district costs approximately $5,000.

City Council President Timothy A. Slavin is running unopposed for the at-large seat, and Councilman David L. Anderson is the lone candidate for the 4th District seat.

William T. Garfinkel, Matthew J. Lindell and Tanner Wm. Polce are running for a 1st District seat. Longtime Councilman James Hutchison did not seek re-election. Mr. Hosfelt’s departure will open another 1st District seat within two months.

James J. Galvin Jr. and Councilman William F. Hare are running in the 2nd District. Lance E. Moffa, Councilman Fred A. Neil and Jane E. Rolfes are running in the 3rd District.

On the Levy Court board Mr. Hosfelt will serve the remaining part of Bradley Eaby’s two-year term as 2nd District commissioner. Mr. Eaby resigned his Levy Court position to take a state job. The next election comes in 2018.

With Mr. Hosfelt’s upcoming departure from the city, his position on the Police Chief Selection Committee will be vacant. Also leaving the committee recently was former city manager Scott Koenig, who retired. Interim city manager Donna Mitchell (the city controller/treasurer) is expected to fill that void.

On Wednesday, Mr. Hosfelt said he was waiting for election results to be confirmed today before knowing the timing of his move.

“Then I have to decide on a date to resign from city council and a swearing-in date with Levy Court,” he said.

• Kent County Board of Elections director Doris Young said her office was contacted by “a couple stations” during Tuesday’s Levy Court election regarding a Republican representative seeking voter turnout numbers while possibly inadvertently violating protocol.

The representative failed to first contact a polling site inspector before asking for numbers at two voting locations, according to Ms. Young. She took the calls with concerns before 11 a.m., contacted the parties involved and cleared the matter up without further issue.

Facebook Comment