Majority Leader McBride nominated to lead Senate

DOVER — Senate Democrats have nominated David McBride to be the new president pro tempore.

Sen. McBride, who represents Wilmington Manor and has been the majority leader the past four years, would replace Patricia Blevins of Elsmere, who was defeated in last week’s election. His nomination will be voted on by the full chamber when the General Assembly returns Jan. 10.

Sen. Margaret Rose Henry of Wilmington, majority whip since 2012, will become majority leader, while Sen. Nicole Poore of New Castle will be the new whip. She was first elected in 2012.

“I am honored that my colleagues have entrusted me with the awesome responsibility of serving as president pro tempore of the Delaware state Senate,” Sen. McBride said in a statement. “I look forward to working with all our new governor, members of the House and my Senate colleagues. That means continuing the promotion of policies that create jobs, protect workers, improve our schools and make us safe, following the efforts of Patti Blevins for the last four years.”

mcbride by .

David McBride

The leadership positions could be temporary — a special election will be held in a few months to replace Sen. Bethany Hall-Long, D-Middletown, who was elected lieutenant governor last week. The winner of the election will control the Senate. Should the Republicans be victorious, they will hold a majority in the chamber for the first time in 44 years.

Committee assignments have not yet been announced.

Facebook Comment