Smyrna, Clayton elect town leaders

SMYRNA — Voters in Smyrna and Clayton took to the polls last week to elect new town leaders.

In Clayton, where four candidates ran for three seats, former mayor and councilman Thomas Horn Jr. lost his bid for re-election by just nine votes.

Instead, challenger Brian E. Fletcher won election to the town council, along with incumbents William “Skip” Carrow and Alex Dias.

The official tally showed 118 votes for Mr. Carrow; 113 votes for Mr. Fletcher; 107 votes for Mr. Dias; and 98 votes for Mr. Horn.

At the council’s re-organizational meeting in May, the five members of council will choose a new mayor, or council president.

In Smyrna, both incumbents held their seats on the town council.

Councilman Robert C. Johnson defeated challenger Daniel L. Young, Sr. by a vote of 149 to 98 to reclaim the at-large seat.

Councilwoman Valerie M. White defeated Robert L. Duff Jr. by a vote of 43 to 29 for the District 3 seat.

Both terms are for three years.

Smyrna Mayor Joanne Masten was elected to her second two-year term unopposed.

The elections in Smyrna and Clayton were held April 28.

Facebook Comment