Smyrna voters to elect new mayor, council members


SMYRNA — Registration for the upcoming Town of Smyrna election closes on Tuesday at 4 p.m.

Positions in the town up for election are mayor, district 2 council seat and an at-large council seat.

The election will be held at Citizens Hose Company No. 1, Inc. on 103 W Commerce St., between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. on April 25.

John Embert III and Alvin Pope are running unopposed for the positions of mayor and District 2 councilman, respectively.

Joanne Masten will be stepping down after four years as mayor on May 3 when the new mayor will be sworn in, town of Smyrna officials said.

Mr. Embert is currently serving as an at-large councilman. Once he takes the position of mayor, a special election will be called to fill his vacated seat.

Four candidates have announced a run for the open at-large council seat — Joseph Hickey, Jennifer Hunter, William Pressley Sr. and William R. Wilson III.

Council seats are served for three-year terms and the Mayor serves for two-year terms.

Smyrna residents may register at Smyrna Town Hall on 27 South Market Street Plaza between 8:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. during weekdays until Tuesday.

Residents who are properly registered to vote in statewide elections with the State Department of Elections and are otherwise qualified to vote in town elections are deemed registered voters under the town’s voter registration ordinance.

Residents may also use the Online Voter Registration Application on the State of Delaware website.

Facebook Comment