Contested school board races loom in four of six Sussex County districts

SUSSEX COUNTY — With the filing deadline less than a week away, contested races loom in four of six Sussex County public school districts for the 2019 school board elections this May.

Four board of education seats in the Indian River School District expire June 30, and all four incumbents – Dr. Heather Statler of Millsboro (District 3), Dr. Donald Hattier of Dagsboro (District 4) and W. Scott Collins of Selbyville and Derek Cathell of Frankford (both in District 5) – have filed for re-election.

Joining Mr. Collins and Mr. Cathell as District 5 candidates is Jeff Evans of Selbyville. As of Friday, Feb. 22, Dr. Statler and Dr. Hattier were unopposed.

All terms up for election in Indian River are five years, running from July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2024.

In the Cape Henlopen School District, there are two candidates for each of the three terms that expire: incumbent and current board president Alison J. Myers and Calvin D. Jackson II for a Member-at-Large seat; incumbent Andrew W. Lewis and Janet E. Maull-Martin in Area C; and William W. Collick and Charles A. Mowll for another Member-at-Large seat.

In the Seaford School District, Dara L. Savage and Shawn T. Garrahan are the candidates, and in Delmar, incumbent Jason R. Coco and William D. Mills are seeking that five-year board term.

Woodbridge School District has one open seat, held by Steve C. McCarron, who is seeking re-election. Meanwhile, in the Laurel School District, incumbent Brad C. Lee has filed for re-election.

Candidate filing deadline with the Sussex County Department of Elections in Friday, March 1.

School board elections are Tuesday, May 14.

Facebook Comment