Incumbents prevail in Dagsboro election

DAGSBORO — There will be no change for the next year in the makeup of Dagsboro’s town council.

Incumbents Norwood Truitt and William Chandler III were winners Saturday in the town’s 2018 municipal election, outpolling challenger Jim Thompson in the race for two council seats.

Mr. Truitt, who began serving on the town’s governing body 10 years ago, was the top vote-getter with 69 votes. Mr. Chandler, who secured a third two-year term, received 62 total votes while Mr. Thompson drew 21 votes in the four-hour election held at the Dagsboro Volunteer Fire Department Station 73.

The winning incumbents will be sworn in with their terms at the Dec. 17 town council meeting. They both said they hope to continue to help better their town.

“I’ve always been honored, serving the town. It’s been a great time for me. I am very proud with the fact that people wanted me on the council,” said Mr. Truitt. “We’ve still got some problems around town, the water system and traffic and just the usual stuff.”

“I am very pleased and honored to serve the town again,” said Mr. Chandler. “I am hoping to do what I can to maintain the town as a nice quiet, enjoyable place to live and raise a family.”

Mr. Chandler said it is imperative to be “very conscious of the town’s budget, its fiscal constraints, the water issues … public safety, the roads and the police force. Those are the things that I think are the core ingredients for the town.”

The Dec. 1 election was Dagsboro’s first contested election since 2015.

In 2016, Mr. Chandler and Mr. Truitt were unopposed in re-election bids.

Dagsboro had no municipal election in 2017 as all three council incumbents — Theresa Ulrich, Patrick Miller and Brian Baull, who was chosen to stay on as mayor — were unchallenged.


Facebook Comment