MacCoy wins city council seat in Seaford election

SEAFORD – After missing out in the city of Seaford’s 2018 election, Matt MacCoy emerged the winner Saturday in the 2019 municipal election.

Mr. MacCoy landed the only open seat, topping Jose Antonio by a 169-126 vote margin to earn the three-year council term. He will take the council seat held for 12 years by Leanne Phillips Lowe, who did not seek another term.

Voting at city hall was from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Mr. MacCoy, one of five council candidates in the 2018 election, finished third behind James King and Orlando Holland, who secured the two open seats.

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment