Nominations open for IRHS Hall of Fame

DAGSBORO – The Indian River High School Hall of Fame continues to honor alumni who make outstanding achievements in this community and world.

The nomination period has opened for the 2019-20 Hall of Fame induction.

The selection committee is looking for graduates who show great character, citizenship and leadership and who have made significant contributions in their field and community.

The nominee must have graduated from Indian River High School at least 10 years prior to the nomination. Candidates will be evaluated on achievements and recognition in their chosen fields (in the local, state, national or international arenas).

Today’s students are following in great footsteps. Previous inductees include educators, legislators, artists, civic leaders, athletes, first responders and more. They’ve come from as close as Dagsboro and far as Texas and Michigan.

The ideal candidate could be considered a role model whose life and works inspire IR students in the pursuit of excellence.

Nomination forms can be downloaded at

The deadline for submissions is Tuesday, Oct. 1, which includes the nomination paperwork, plus a second recommendation letter from another individual.

Late applications will not be accepted. Nominations will be carefully considered by an impartial selection committee. The winner will be recognized at the IRHS Annual Awards Ceremony in May.

The nomination/induction process is facilitated by Indian River High School Alumni Association. The nonprofit group formed in 2012 and meets monthly to connect alumni, while supporting and promoting IRHS.

Visit for more information.


1990: Prentiss Adkins – Class of ’69; William B. Chandler III – Class of ’69; Gregory Cobb – Class of ’69; Paula Hudson-Goodman – Class of ’73; Mike Hall – Class of ’74.

1991: Floyd Gray – Class of ’69; Dana Jefferson – Class of ’74; Stanley Taylor – Class of ’70.

1992: Al Jordan – Class of ’71; Paul Schwartzkopf – Class of ’69.

1993: N. Lee Bunting – Class of ’72; Sandra Chisholm Robinson – Class of ’70.

1994: Jay Bunting – Class of ’75; Laura Hickman – Class of ’71.

1995: Lucinda Bunting – Class of ’82; Lori Bunting Hudson – Class of ’83; Mark Steele – Class of ’77.

1996:  Jeffery Bennett; Scott Parker – Class of ’72.

1998: Mark Marvel – Class of ’77; William Keith Marvel – Class of ’80; Charles Murray.

2000: David Givans; Jackie Owens Wilson – Class of ’70.

2001: Tracey Owens Hudson – Class of ’73; Sewall McCabe – Class of ’74; Ray Steele – Class of ’71

2012: Susan Lyons – Class of ’73.

2013: Terry Handy – Class of ’84.

2014: Devi Enerio-Ellant – Class of ’87.

2016: Vincent Mumford – Class of ’83;  Victor “Graig” Temple – Class of ’93.

2017: John S. “J.S.” Evans – Class of 1989.

2018:  Brandon R. Donaway – Class of ’89; Bethany Hall-Long – Class of ’81; Tracy D. Handy Hilliard – Class of ’85; Peter C. Schwartzkopf – Class of ’72.

Facebook Comment