One council seat on the ballot in Seaford election

SEAFORD — It’s election day this Saturday in the city of Seaford.

Matt MacCoy and Jose Santos are the two candidates seeking the only expiring council seat, currently held by longtime councilwoman Leanne Phillips Lowe, who did not seek another term.

Ms. Phillips Lowe has served 12 years on Seaford council.

Seaford council terms are two years.

Voting April 20 is from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. at Seaford City Hall.

Voters must have previously registered at city hall for voting eligibility in this election. The voter registration deadline for this year has passed, but residents may register for future elections.

Mr. MacCoy finished third in the city’s 2018 election for council. He was one of five candidates for two open council terms, which were claimed by James King and Orlando Holland. Also, Seaford Mayor David Genshaw, first elected in 2014, won a third mayoral term in the 2018 election.

Ocean View election

A contested District 1 seat on the town of Ocean View’s council was decided last Saturday,

Bruce A. White emerged the winner, outpolling Gabriel I. Sarate in the April 13 election. Mr. White received 151 total votes while Mr. Sarate received 31. Mr. White will succeed Bill Olsen, who did not seek re-election.

Councilman Frank Twardzik was unopposed in his bid to retain his District 2 council seat.

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment