School board elections to be held on May 9

DOVER — Elections for open school board seats will be held statewide on Tuesday, May 9, when voters can head to the polls from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

New Castle and Kent counties each have contested elections in five public school districts and Sussex County has elections in two.

All school board members serve for five-year terms. New board members’ terms will begin on July 1.

According to the Department of Elections, voters must be residents of their given school districts, citizens of the U.S. and 18 years of age or older. Proof of identity will be required at polling places. The deadline to mail in absentee ballots is Friday. The deadline to vote an absentee ballot in person is noon on May 8 at each county’s Department of Elections office.

Kent County races

The following races are slated in Kent County’s public school districts:

• In Caesar Rodney district, three candidates — Alan Claycomb of Magnolia, Tawanna Prophet-Brinkley of Magnolia and David Failing of Camden-Wyoming — are vying for an at-large seat.

• In Capital, candidates Andres Ortiz and Joan Loewenstein Engel, both of Dover, are seeking an at-large seat.

• In Lake Forest, Austin Auen of Felton, Phillip Thomas of Harrington and Stephanie Justiniano Johnson of Frederica are seeking the at-large seat up for grabs.

• In the Milford district, there is one race for the at-large seat open on the school board and the Area D candidate, Judith Purcell of Milford, is running unopposed. Candidates for the at-large seat are Ronald Evans, Michael Firch, Jason Miller, Michael McKain and Michael Wells, all of  Milford.

• In Smyrna School District, two candidates — Vetra Evans-Gunter of Smyrna and Karin Sweeney of Townsend are vying for the at-large position.

Sussex County races

Sussex has two districts with races next week.

• In the Seaford School District, John Hanenfeld and Michael Kraft are seeking one available seat on the school board.

• In Woodbridge, Paul Breeding and Darrynn Harris are the candidates for the open position.

New Castle County races

Four districts in New Castle have contested races.

• In Appoquinimink, there is one contested at-large school board seat with three candidates — Charlisa Edelin, Trevor Tucker and Keinna McKnight.

• In Brandywine, there is one contested “District D” school board seat with two candidates — Alma Melina Gillis and John Skrobot III.

• In Christina district, there is a contested race for the “District B” seat with four candidates — Karen E. Sobotker, Angela Mitchell, Monica Moriak and Justin Day. Also, three candidates — Jeffrey Day, Kimara Smith and Meredith L. Griffin Jr. — are vying for the “District G” position.

• In Red Clay Consolidated School District, three candidates — Ashley Sabo, Thomas Pappenhagen and Henry Clampitt — are seeking the “District C” seat.

For more information on polling places or other elections questions, call (302) 739-4277 or visit

Facebook Comment