Smyrna elects new mayor, city council members

SMYRNA — Shortly after the polls closed at 8 p.m. on Tuesday night, the results in the Smyrna municipal election were announced. John Embert III and Alvin Pope, who ran unopposed for mayor and District 2 councilman respectively, will both assume their new positions next month.

Council seats are served for three-year terms and the mayor serves for two-year terms.

Joanne Masten will be stepping down after four years as mayor on May 3 when Mr. Embert will be sworn in, town of Smyrna officials said.

Mr. Embert is currently serving as an at-large councilman. Once he takes the position of the new mayor, a special election will be called to fill his vacated seat.

There was a run-off for the at-large city council seat between Joseph Hickey, Jennifer Hunter, William Pressley Sr. and William R. Wilson III. Mr. Pressley won the seat, taking 47 percent of the vote, according to town of Smyrna officials.

According to the Department of Elections’ unofficial tally results, the election turnout was low at 384 voters participating.

A U.S. Census Bureau population estimate from 2015 put the town of Smyrna’s population at 11,319.

Staff writer Ian Gronau can be reached at 741-8272 or

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment