Sussex winners take office

Sussex winners of the November general election took office on Tuesday, Jan. 3, during a swearing-in ceremony held in County Council chambers on The Circle in Georgetown. Irwin G. Burton III of Lewes was sworn in as the new 3rd District council member, replacing the retiring Joan R. Deaver. Also sworn in was newly elected Sussex County Clerk of the Peace Norman A. “Jay” Jones Jr., replacing John F. Brady, who did not seek re-election. In addition, incumbents who won reelection, Councilmen Michael H. Vincent of Seaford and Samuel R. Wilson Jr. of Georgetown, took their oaths of office. Following the ceremony, County Council selected officers for the new year, returning Mr. Vincent to another year as president and choosing Councilman George B. Cole of Ocean View as vice president. Council members are, from left, Robert B. Arlett; Mr. Cole, Mr. Wilson, Mr. Vincent and Mr. Burton. Council also approved J. Everett Moore Jr. to re-appointment as county attorney. Staff from the Moore & Rutt and Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze law firms will represent the Board of Adjustment and Planning & Zoning Commission respectively as assistant county attorneys. (Submitted photo)

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment