Camden VFW sponsors scholarship essay contests

Camden VFW Post Commander Larry Josefowski encourages students to enter the VFW’s national Voice of Democracy audio essay competition. (Submitted photo)

CAMDEN — Veterans of Foreign Wars Post No. 3238 is offering a way for local students to brighten their future.

The Post, located at 166 Old Camden Road, is taking part in the VFW’s national Voice of Democracy audio essay competition. The national first-place winner receives a $30,000 scholarship, paid directly to their university, college or vocational/technical school. All entries first are reviewed by a committee made up of VFW members.

The opportunity is open to all high school students throughout Delaware.

First-place winners from each state are awarded minimum scholarships of $1,000 each and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C.

The 2019-2020 winner for the Department of Delaware was Juliana Handlin of Christiana High School.

The theme for the 2020-2021 contest is, “Is This the Country the Founders Envisioned?”

The Post also sponsors the Patriot’s Pen youth essay for students in grades six through eight. This year’s theme is, “What is Patriotism to Me?”

Last year, more than 138,000 students vied for more than $900,000 in state and national awards.

Bryan Couzens, of Camden, took seventh place nationally for his essay, winning $1,750.

The essay contest gives students a way to express their feelings about America, Post Commander Larry Josefowski said.

“Veterans have a special appreciation for those students who take the time to reflect on our country’s history and patriotism,” he said. “This program allows us to recognize students who participate.

“Our post members who review the submissions really enjoy the process, and hearing and reading the vast variety of opinions that reflect our country.”

A complete list of rules and eligibility requirements for the Voice of Democracy essay competition may be found at

The entry form is at

Rules for the Patriot’s Pen youth essay competition are at; the entry form is at

Entries must be submitted by Oct. 31.

For additional information, contact Karen McGloughlin at