Delaware first lady hands out First Chance awards

WILMINGTON — Delaware first lady Tracey Quillen Carney and members of the End Childhood Hunger Task Force recently announced recipients of “First Chance” awards. The award recipients consist of leaders and teams that stepped up to keep feeding Delaware children when school buildings had to close from mid-March through June due to COVID-19.
First Chance Award Recipients are:
• Appoquinimink School District – Janice Vander Decker
• Boys & Girls Club of Delaware – Tony Windsor
• Brandywine School District, School Nutrition – Colleen Carter
• Caesar Rodney School District – Paul Rodgers
• Cape Henlopen School District – Cheryle Lord-Gordon
• Capital School District – James Trower
• Christina School District – Andrea Solge
• City of Wilmington, Department of Youth and Families, Food Service Program – Victoria Fuentes-Cox
• Colonial School District – A. Paula Angelucci
• Community Education Building PS No. 5 LLC – Havena Hollins
• Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Delaware Division of Social Services – Mondel Powell
• Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Delaware Division of Social Services (Pandemic-EBT Customer Service Team) – Maggie Smith, Carolyn Kincaid, and Marcella Spady
• Delaware Department of Transportation – Mike Rivera, Dan Sturgeon, Warren Ziegler, Butch Kelley, and Laura Brown
• Delaware National Guard – Captain Kevin Caneco, Army 1st Lt. James Willey, and Sgt. 1st Class Brian Turner
• Ezion Fair Community Academy – The Rev. Dr. Christopher Curry
• Family Outreach Multipurpose Community Center Inc. – Stephanie Dukes
• Food Bank of Delaware – Sanjay Malik
• Harry K Foundation – Harry Keswani
• Indian River School District – Clifton Toomey
• Lake Forest School District – Jennifer Montano
• Laurel School District – Julie Gibbons
• Milford School District – Sharon Forrest
• Polytech School District – Carol Arrington
• Red Clay Consolidated School District – Jessica Terranova RD, LDN
• Seaford School District – William Mengel
• Smyrna School District – Roger Holt
• Tarbiyah School – Dr. Amna Latif
• The Little People Child Development Center – Janice Palmer
• Woodbridge School District – Joann Joseph
•YMCA of Delaware – Courtney Hoy
The award recipients, many of whom are Delaware’s Summer Food Service Program sponsors, were able to coordinate sites early this spring so that families could pick up meals for children to eat at home. Additional organizations and community partners worked with the SFSP sponsors to ensure students had nutritious meals outside of school.
Members of the statewide ECHO Task Force selected the award recipients. With a central team convened by the first lady, the task force includes representatives from the Food Bank of Delaware, the Department of Education, and the Department of Health and Social Services. The task force’s specific goals include increasing participation and building partnerships in support of the Summer Food Service Program and alternative model school breakfasts. The task force also seeks to promote awareness of all programs, public and private, available to Delawareans experiencing food insecurity.
First lady Carney launched the First Chance Delaware initiative in 2018 to recognize and facilitate effective partnerships, to share research and best practices, and to promote opportunities to collaborate in support of Delaware’s children. First Chance Delaware focuses its work on ending childhood hunger and expanding access to nutritious food for low-income children; promoting learning readiness through literacy, health and parent-child engagement programs; and advancing the recognition of – and effective responses to – adverse childhood experiences.
Nov. 5 changed to half day of remote instruction at IR
SELBYVILLE — Thursday, Nov. 5 will now be a half day of remote learning for all Indian River School District students. There will be no in-person instruction for PreK-8 students in Cohort B and all remote instruction will be concluded by noon.
Although Return Day activities originally scheduled for this date have been canceled, Delaware Code requires that the day be an official holiday for all Sussex County schools beginning at noon. The work day for staff will also conclude at noon
The change was approved by the Indian River Board of Education on Sept. 28.