Delaware Secondary School Mathematics League meets scheduled

DOVER — The Delaware Secondary School Mathematics League is completing its 41st year of operation. The purpose of the Delaware Secondary School Mathematics League is to cultivate interest in mathematics through team competition.

Dr. Willard E. Baxter, left, and Dr. William J. Geppert Jr.

This year there were 362 teams registered with 2,058 students participating across the state. These students represent 98 schools including 17 of the 19 public school districts and many charter, private and parochial schools. There were 204 teams at the middle school level competing in 11 regions and 158 teams at the high school level competing in eight regions.

There are four levels of competition – Grade 7, Grade 8, Grade 9 and Grades 10-12. Schools are separated into geographic regions for competition with four meets held during the year.

Upon completion of the four regional meets, the top teams and high scoring individuals from each region are invited to participate in the invitational meets and awards banquets held at the Modern Maturity Center in Dover.

The 2018 Invitational Meets and Awards Banquets will be held on April 9 for the eighth grade, April 10 for the high school, and April 11 for the seventh grade. Awards are presented at each banquet to high scoring teams and individuals for both the regional standings and for the Invitational Meet results. Over 1,000 students, teachers and parents are expected to participate in the three Invitational Awards Banquets.

A highlight of this year’s Invitational Meets will be the awarding of the Co-Founder trophies at the High School Awards Banquet. The co-founders of the Delaware Secondary School Mathematics League are Dr. Willard E. Baxter, now deceased, who retired from the Department of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Delaware, and Dr. William J. Geppert, Jr., former State Mathematics Supervisor in the Delaware Department of Education, who continues to attend multiple Invitational Meets and Awards Banquets each year.

Last year, the first-place individual trophy for the Invitational Meet for grades 10-12 was named the Dr. Willard E. Baxter Trophy. This year the first-place individual trophy for the Invitational Meet for Grade 9 will be named the Dr. William J. Geppert, Jr. Trophy. These named trophies will be awarded annually and are intended to recognize both men for co-founding the Delaware Math League and for their life-long dedication to the program.

The Math League is currently sponsored by DCTM – Delaware Council of Teachers of Mathematics. The Math League coordinators are Denise I. Griffiths, Delaware Technical Community College, for Grades 7-8 and Thomas J. Koliss, Newark High School, for Grades 9-12.

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment