Indian River’s 2019-20 Teacher of the Year to be unveiled April 30

GEORGETOWN – Indian River School District’s 2019-20 Teacher of the Year will be known to the world on April 30.

This year, the district’s annual Teacher of the Year recognition event will be held in the Georgetown Middle School auditorium, starting at 7 p.m.

This special ceremony will honor Teacher of the Year honorees from each of the district’s 16 schools. It will conclude with the announcement of the district’s overall 2019-20 Teacher of the Year.

School winners are:

• Katherine Bennett, Phillip C. Showell Elementary School

• Ashley Broughton, Georgetown Kindergarten Center

• Wendee Bull, Georgetown Middle School

• Jeffrey Bunting, Indian River High School

• Megan Conway, Lord Baltimore Elementary School

• Catherine Dorey, G.W. Carver Center

• Stephanie Fair, Southern Delaware School of the Arts

• Alexandra Fish, John M. Clayton Elementary School

• Brian Gloyd, Long Neck Elementary School

• Kristopher Guerin, Howard T. Ennis School

• Heather Hellens, North Georgetown Elementary School

• Arthur Henry, Millsboro Middle School

• Elizabeth Illian, Georgetown Elementary School

• Jennifer Jerns, Selbyville Middle School

• Tracy Marvel, East Millsboro Elementary School

• Robert Weber, Sussex Central High School

The overall Teacher of the Year will represent the Indian River School District at the state event in October.

IRSD’s reigning 2018-19 Teacher of the Year is Courtney White, a third-grade teacher at North Georgetown Elementary School.

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment