Kent County school board members elected

DOVER — Kent Countians in three school districts elected new board members Tuesday. In Capital, Caesar Rodney and Lake Forest three candidates were running for one at-large, five-year term in each district.

Chanda Jackson of Dover won the Capital seat with 38.62 percent of the vote. She received 190 votes. Andres R. Ortiz received 183 votes and Kevin Ohlandt 119 votes. Both are of Dover.

In Caesar Rodney, Michael A. Marasco of Wyoming received 483 votes, or 62 percent. Mark M. Dyer Sr., of Camden, received 229 votes and Dana Bordley LeCompte, of Wyoming, 67.

Earle Dempsey, of Felton, won 70.76 percent — 167 — votes in Lake Forest. Lendon W. Dennis Jr. of Felton received 47 votes and Austin C. Auen, also of Felton, 22.

Both Milford and Smyrna districts also have one new board member, both of whom were uncontested. In Milford, Renate K. Wiley of Milford, will represent Area C, while Kathryn O’Connell of Clayton will fill Smyrna’s at-large position. Both are five-year terms.

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment