Sussex Central Hall of Fame welcomes inductees

Sussex Central High School class of 2018 Hall of Fame inductees, from left, are Tim Slade, Bill West, Linda Mitchell, Jullion Cooper, John Marvel and Dr. Bobby Gulab. (Submitted photo)

GEORGETOWN — Sussex Central High School’s Hall of Fame on Friday, Nov. 16 welcomed its six newest inductees — the largest induction class since the hall was formed in 1990.

Inducted at the ceremony held at SCHS were: Jullion Cooper, Dr. Bobby Gulab, John Marvel, Linda Mitchell, Tim Slade and Bill West.

Inductees were selected by the eight-member SCHS Hall of Fame Committee.

2018 Inductees

John Marvel: A 1971 SCHS graduate, Mr. Marvel as head softball coach 12 years at Sussex Tech has coached the Ravens to two state softball championships.

He also started his own church and holds services at the Nutter Marvel Museum, the historic carriage museum on South Bedford Street in Georgetown made possible by his grandfather, Nutter Marvel.

Linda Mitchell: A 1972 SCHS graduate, Ms. Mitchell has 42-plus years of service at East Millsboro Elementary School and Indian River School District as a teacher/reading specialist.

She has held a leadership role at the school and district in reading instruction, data analysis, text preparation, curriculum development, textbook adoption, student support and team leadership. She is involved in mentoring and has made consistent contribution to numerous school, national and state awards. This includes 2017 and 2008 National Blue Ribbon School, 2016 Reward School, 2014 School of Continued Excellence and about a half dozen others.

Bill West: Mr. West, a 1974 SCHS graduate, began a long law enforcement career as a part-time office with the town of Georgetown in 1978. He went on to a career with Delaware State Police, working in various capacities, including drug and intelligence and electronic surveillance units. He retired from state police in 2007.

Mr. West was elected to Georgetown town council in 2012 and was elected mayor in 2014 – a position he presently holds. He was instrumental in the establishment of the free Summer Concert Series and has facilitated or helped to facilitate a series of projects, including New Year’s Eve on The Circle, lower impact fees, street rehabilitation projects and a referendum for a new administration building and restoration of the former town hall.

He also volunteers for CHEER’s senior homebound delivery, Meals on Wheels.

Tim Slade: A 1989 SCHS graduate, Mr. Slade was a member of the 1988 state finalist Sussex Central basketball team and the 1989 state champion baseball team. He went on to play basketball at the University of Delaware, where he earned his teaching certificate.

Mr. Slade was employed in the Indian River School District as a social studies teacher (1995-2001) and administrator (2001-07). He coached SCHS basketball teams that won conference titles in 2001 and 2003.

He was an administrator in the Christiana School District and is in his new position as a vice principal in the Cape Henlopen School District.

Dr. Bobby Gulab: A 1996 SCHS graduate, Dr. Gulab was recently promoted to Senior Vice President/Chief Medical Officer with the Beebe Medical Group.

He earned his Bachelor of Science degree from Delaware State University, his Doctor of Medicine degree from Ross University School of Medicine and a Master of Business Administration degree with a concentration in healthcare from the University of Delaware.

Jullion Cooper: Mr. Cooper, a 2001 SCHS graduate, works for the U.S. Department of State as a Foreign Service Officer.

Before joining the Department of State, he assisted HIV-positive incarcerated individuals in the Boston area with re-adjusting to life outside prison. During his tenure at the U.S. Consulate in Guangzhou he aided U.S. citizens in distress, promoted LGBT civil society and vetted prospective Chinese citizens for tourist visas.

Mr. Cooper is currently working as a program manager in the Department of State’s International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Agency Bureau in the Policy, Planning and Coordination shop. Over the next few years he’ll work with five international organizations to promote drug prevention and drug treatment worldwide. He speaks fluent Chinese, Spanish, Catalan and Italian and is working on Hebrew and Haitian Creole proficiency.

Established in 1990 to recognize outstanding achievements by Sussex Central High School alumni, Hall of Fame inductions ended in 2002 but were re-established in 2013.

Honorees are judged on their professional/career achievements, service to the nation, state, and/or community, academic achievements beyond Sussex Central High School as well as other significant contributions.

To be nominated, an individual must have received a diploma from Sussex Central High School. Alumni are eligible for nomination five years after graduation.

Nominations are submitted to Sussex Central High School in February. The Hall of Fame Committee then reviews nominations and recommends nominees for the Hall of Fame induction.


(Year of SCHS graduation in parentheses)
Class of 2018
John Marvel (1971), Linda Mitchell (1972), Bill West (1974), Tim Slade (1989), Dr. Bobby Gulab (1996), Jullion Cooper (2001).

Class 0f 2017
Dr. Victoria Godwin Fonke (Class of 1976), Phil Shultie (1971), Steven Floyd Sr. (1987).

Class of 2016
Asher Gulab (1988), Paul Eckrich (1978), John Powell (1991).

Class of 2015
Rep. Ruth Briggs King (1974), Russell McCabe (1974), Cathy Unruh (1975), Deon Jackson (1993), Markishia Wise (1995).

Class of 2014
Dr. David Carter (1997), James Hudson (1971), Todd Lawson (1993), Dr. Aimee Parker (1999), Dr. Loriann White  (1985).

Class of 2013
Carlos Barbosa (1985), Robert Ruffin (1988), Chad Spicer (1998), Deborah Windett (1972).

Class of 2002
Mark Murray (1980).

Class of 2000
William Baxter (1970), Phillip Tonge (1972).

Class of 1998
Cathy Hudson Gorman (1972), Terry Megee (1974), Grier White (1971).

Class of 1996
Neal Hitchens (1975), John Young (1983).

Class of 1995
Charles Hudson (1971), Julie Ann Gregg McCade (1974).

Class of 1994
Kenneth Clark, Jr. (1994), Alan Ellingsworth (1972), Ivan Neal (1978).

Class of 1993
Barbara Jackson (1971), Ralph Richardson, III (1970).

Class of 1992
Mike DeLeon (1980), Kevin Short (1983).

Class of 1991
Cheryl Hedtke (1980), Lynda Johnson (1970), Ileana Smith (1970).

Class of 1990
Joseph Booth (1976), Bruce Rogers (1979).

Facebook Comment