Ten Indian River grads receive IR Pride scholarships

DAGSBORO — The Indian River High School Alumni Association’s ongoing pledge to support post-secondary education continues this year, with 10 IR Pride scholarships – each for $1,000.

Scholarship recipients are: Kathleen Carter, Jarod Elliott, Lauren Grow, Luke McCabe, Luke Morgan, Abigail O’Shields, Zachary Schultz, Victoria Shaner, Dylan Tuttle and Brooke Weaver.

The scholarships were announced during the class of 2019 commencement held May 29.

Additionally, this year the IRHSAA also awarded three $500 IR Alumni scholarships to previous Indian River graduates who are continuing their education. Those recipients are Matt Selba, David Vickers and Nicole Ireland.

Scholarships were presented June 10. Six Class of the 2019 graduates and the three alumni recipients attended the association’s meeting to receive their scholarships.

The $11,500 in scholarship money pushes the total scholarship funding awarded since the IRHSAA’s inception to $50,000, said IRHSAA president Nancy Hickman.

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at newsroom@newszap.com

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment