8 Henlopen players earn first-team All-State field hockey

Eight Henlopen Conference players earned first-team honors on this year’s All-State field hockey squad.

That group included three players from DIAA Division II state-champion Delmar High and two apiece from Division I state-champion Cape Henlopen and Polytech.

Delmar junior Ashlyn Carr was named the state Player of the Year after helping the Wildcats go 18-0 and capture their second-straight state crown.
She was joined on the first team by teammates Peyton Kemp (Sr.) and Hailey Bitters (Jr.)

Cape Henlopen’s first-team honorees were Alia Marshall (Jr.) and Annie Judge (Sr.). The Vikings went 16-2, winning their last 15 games of the season to claim the Division I title.

Polytech’s two first-team All-Staters were Madi McKay (Sr.) and MacKenzie Estrada (Jr.), who helped the Panthers go 11-6 and reach the Division I state semifinals.

The other downstate first-team All-State pick was Milford senior Darby Brennan.

Three honored in soccer

Three Henlopen Conference players were named to the Top XI, the top group of honorees on this year’s boys’ soccer All-State team.

Cape Henlopen senior midfielder Zach Gelof was named the fourth-best player in the state, Caesar Rodney’s Steven Ferrandino, a senior midfielder, was rated ninth-best while Indian River senior Oscar Cruz-Osorio was ranked No. 10 by the state’s coaches.

DIAA Division I state champion Salesianum had three of the top five players on the list, led by state Player of the Year Bryce Wallace.

Field Hockey

All-State team

First team

Alia Marshall Cape Henlopen

Annie Judge  Cape Henlopen

Madi McKay Polytech

Mackenzie Estrada Polytech

Ashlyn Carr Delmar

Peyton Kemp Delmar

Hailey Bitters Delmar

Darby Brennan Milford

Isabelle Pilson Tower Hill

Alison Smith Tower Hill

Julia Smith Tower Hill

Ashlee Brentlinger  Padua

Caitlyn Cordell Appoquinimink

Sarah Raab Concord

Lauren Vandenbraak Brandywine

Dara Spavlik Conrad

Sydney Keld Caravel

Hailey Ward Caravel

GK-Emma Davis Wilm. Friends

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ashlyn Carr, Delmar

COACH OF THE YEAR: Robin Adair, Tower Hill

Second team

Marcella Sabbagh Cape Henlopen

Kira Short Sussex Tech

Madison Knight Polytech

Cameron Smith Cape Henlopen

Jody Boyer Cape Henlopen

Morgan Fletcher Delmar

Logan Walls Delmar

Anna Erskine Wilm. Friends

Laura Taschner Tower Hill

Katrina Winfield Wilm. Friends

Kendra Schweizer  St. Mark’s

Riley Hickox  Padua

Caroline Taylor  Ursuline

Lauren Tyre St. Georges

Amelia Christensen Concord

Allie Davis Mt. Pleasant

Callie Husband Brandywine

GK-Grace Lee Sussex Tech

Honorable Mention

Evan Amendum Sanford

Natalie Hobbs Tower Hill

Evan Amendum Sanford

Natalie Hobbs Tower Hill

Hannah Harmon Middletown

Raquel Brown Brandywine

Kylee Balbach Mt Pleasant

Onar Cranny, Jr. Archmere

Jill Aranilla  St Elizabeth

Boys’ Soccer

All-State Team

Top XI

1-Bryce Wallace Salesianum, Sr.

2-Gavin Ford Salesianum, Sr.

3-Matt Meadows Appoquinimink, Jr.

4-Zachary Gelof Cape Henlopen, Sr.

5-Tommy McGrail Salesianum, Jr.

6-Hadi Basma Appoquinimink, Sr.

7-Malcom Johnson Tower Hill, Sr.

8-Matthew Mitchell St. Georges, Sr.

9-Steven Ferrandino Caesar Rodney, Sr.

10-Oscar Cruz-Osorio Indian River, Sr.

11-Bo Anderson Tower Hill, Sr.

First-team All-Representative

Matt Meadows Appo, Jr.

Hadi Basma Appo, Sr.

Matthew Mitchell Saint Georges, Sr.

Mario Della Monica Appo, Sr.

Juan Carlos Cruz McKean, Sr.

Benjamin Cahill Mount Pleasant, Sr.

Moustapha Almamy Diaby Christiana, Fr.

Carlos Santana McKean, Sr.

Zach Dainton Archmere, Sr.

Rhys Newcombe Charter of Wilm., Sr.

Andrew Rosenbaum Archmere, So.

Anthony Gambacorta Delaware Military, Jr.

Zachary Gelof Cape Henlopen, Sr.

Steven Ferrandino Caesar Rodney, Sr.

Thomas McPoyle Caesar Rodney, Sr.

Oscar Cruz-Osorio Indian River, Sr.

Craig Rice Laurel, Sr.

Luke Mccabe Indian River, Jr.

Edgardo Velasquez Indian River, Sr.

Malcolm Johnson Tower Hill, Sr.

Evan Murray Saint Andrews, Sr.

Robbie Turnbull Saint Andrews, Sr.

Bryce Wallace Salesianum, Sr.

Gavin Ford Salesianum, Sr.

Tommy McGrail Salesianum, Jr.

Jack Leonard Salesianum, Jr.

Casey Kurlehj Salesianum, Jr.

Peter Coker Saint Mark’s, Sr.

Ulysis Slagle Cape Henlopen, Sr.

GK-Emmett McCloskey Salesianum, Jr.

GK-Bo Anderson Tower Hill, Sr.

Second-team All-Representative

Nate Bampo Middletown, Sr.

Alex Suarez Appo, Sr.

David Angulo Saint Georges, Sr.

Saul Robles Delcastle, Jr.

Chris Coulaloglou Mount Pleasant, Sr.

John Murphy Brandywine, Fr.

Raul Lopez Glasgow, Jr.

Angel Bergarra McKean, Sr.

Diego Figueroa Conrad, Jr.

Johan Silvestre Conrad, Jr.

Michael Chen Newark Charter, Sr.

Andrew Amato Charter Of Wilm., Sr.

Mike Barr Sussex Tech, Sr.

Roman Kolakowski Smyrna, Sr.

Juan Perez-Perez Sussex Central, So.

Wilder Gonzalez-Perez Laurel, Jr.

Khi Hovington Milford, Sr.

Ben Davis Sussex Academy, Sr.

Will Davis Sussex Academy, Sr.

Warrington Webb Saint Andrews, Sr.

Adam Fisher Tower Hill, Sr.

Oryem Kilama Wilmington Friends, So.

Ben Strine Salesianum, Jr.

Matt Ziomek Saint Mark’s, So.

Jacob Rubini Caravel, Jr.

Nikki Disimplico Salesianum, Sr.

Erik Wellings Appo, Sr.

Joshua Moody Saint Georges, Sr.

Jason Dauerty Salesianum, Jr.

GK-Jason Sommers Appo, Sr.

GK-Jailon Gillespie Laurel, So.

Third-team All-Representative

Maddyan Ata Newark, Jr.

Angel De Los Rios Hodgson, Sr.

Xavier Jamieson Saint Georges, Sr.

Ndeh Tima Appo, So.

Josue Martinez-Moret Howard, Jr.

Otis Mcfarlane A.I. Dupont, Sr.

Yoel Munoz McKean, Sr.

Michael Kosh Christiana, Jr.

Vincent Begatto Archmere, Jr.

Michael Ruggeri Delaware Military, Jr.

Jacob Ogrodnik Charter of Wilm., Sr.

Jordon Halsey Conrad, Sr.

Emerson Escalante-Diaz Dover, Jr.

David Haynes Caesar Rodney, Sr.

Christopher Ramirez Sussex Central, Sr.

Jared Cordoba Indian River, So.

Chris Alubry Woodbridge, Sr.

Kurt Moyer Lake Forest, Sr.

Ryan Lopez-Roblero Laurel, Sr.

Ben Horgan Saint Andrews, Jr.

Lorenzo Bocchetti Tatnall, Sr.

Max Pickles Wilmington Friends, Sr.

Chase Dunlap Saint Elizabeth, Jr.

Noah Schwartz Caravel, Sr.

James Smith Saint Elizabeth, Sr.

Benji Schwartz Caravel, Jr.

Tommy Pomatto Caesar Rodney, Sr.

Wilberth Gonzalez-Gomez Indian River, Sr.

Jaxson Turner Milford, Jr.

GK-Nathan Reid Caesar Rodney, Sr.

GK-Juan Behena William Penn, Jr.

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at newsroom@newszap.com

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.
Facebook Comment