Cape’s Marshall, Delmar’s Carr top all-state field hockey team

Cape Henlopen High’s Alia Marshall (Division I) and Delmar’s Ashlyn Carr (Division II) were named the state’s Players of the Year as the All-State Field Hockey team was announced on Wednesday.
State champion Cape Henlopen had four players named to the first team in Division I while state champion Delmar had six players selected to the first team in Division II.

Cape Henlopen’s Alia Marshall was named the Division I state Player of the Year.

Mount Pleasant’s Peter Meisel was named the state Coach of the Year.
The All-State banquet will be held on Jan. 7 at 6:30 p.m. at Polytech.
All-State Field Hockey teams
Division I
First Team
1-Alia Marshall Cape Henlopen
2-Mackensie Estrada Polytech
3-Cameron Smith Cape Henlopen
4.-Marcella Sabbagh Cape Henlopen
5.-Emily Monigle Cape Henlopen
6.-Susan Sesay Middletown
7.-Jenna McKelvey Concord
8.-Riley Hickox Padua
9-Schuler Stark – GK William Penn
10.-Alex Kelleher Wilmington Charter
Second Team
1-Maddie Wilbur Smyrna
2-Mairead McKibbon Polytech
3-Anna Stancofski Cape Henlopen
4-Anna Getty Padua
5-Sydney Aguilar St. Georges
6-Katie Raab Concord
7-Shannon McCormac Padua
Player of the Year: Alia Marshall
Division II
First Team
1-Ashlyn Carr Delmar
2-Josie Hollamon Delmar
3-Hailey Bitters Delmar
4-Morgan Fletcher Delmar
5-Morgan Bradford Delmar
6-Grace Aguilar Lake Forest
7-Maci Bradford Delmar
8-Jennifer Cleary Tower Hill
9-Katy Craft Tower Hill
10-Katrina Windfield Friends
11-Caroline Taylor Ursuline
12-Jane Lyons Ursuline
13-Lauren Vanderbraak Brandywine
14-Alexandra Davis Mount Pleasant
15-Caroline Donovan Archmere
16-Sydney Keld Caravel
17-Hailey Ward Caravel
18-Karli Cauley- GK Caravel
Second team
1-Julianna Tyndall Lake Forest
2-Madison Johnson Wilmington Christian
3-Annie Malatesta Tower Hill
4-Evan Amendum Sanford
5-Cierra Fowler St. Mark’s
6-Julie Copeman Ursuline
7-Kylee Balbach Mt. Pleasant
8-Sammy Cooper Caravel
9-Julia Quinlan Tower Hill
Player of the Year: Ashlyn Carr, Delmar
Coach of the Year: Peter Meisel, Mt. Pleasant

Reach the Delaware State News newsroom at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.
Facebook Comment