Delmar’s Hollamon named DSBA state Coach of the Year

Delmar High’s field hockey team has been as dominant as any high school athletic program in the state lately.

Not only have the Wildcats won back-to-back DIAA state titles but they’ve gone to the state finals six times in the last seasons and currently own a 25-game winning streak.

Delmar High’s Jodi Hollamon has led the Wildcats to back-to-back field hockey state titles./Delaware State News files photo

With all that success in mind, the Delaware Sportswriters & Coaches Association has voted Delmar’s Jodi Hollamon as the winner of the 2017 Tubby Raymond Award as the state’s Coach of the Year.

Hollamon will be honored at the DSBA’s 69th annual banquet, at noon, on Presidents Day, Feb. 19, at the Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel, 365 Airport Road, New Castle.

The Wildcats went 18-0 en route to winning the DIAA Division II state championship this fall. They outscored their opponents, 151-8.

Ranked No. 18 nationally by Max Field Hockey, Delmar has had four players from the squad sign or verbally commit to NCAA Division I programs.

In addition to the John J. Brady Award as Delaware’s Outstanding Athlete of 2017, which will be announced that day, the banquet will honor the state’s Team of the Year (Canal Major League softball), and the winners of the Tubby Raymond Coach of the Year Award, the Herm Reitzes Award for Public Service and the Buddy Hurlock Unsung Hero Award.

Among the nominees for the Athlete of the Year award are Smyrna High football player Will Knight, Dover pro tennis player Madison Brengle, Caesar Rodney High grad Duron Harmon (New England Patriots), Middletown High grad Chris Godwin (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), Middletown gymnast Morgan Hurd, former Middletown High and Delaware pitcher Chris Kuhl (Pittsburgh Pirates) and Delaware field hockey player Greta Nauck.

Tickets are available at $35 at




Facebook Comment