Four Henlopen players earn All-State soccer Top XI honors

CR’s Spencer Ott netted 17 goals in 19 games and helped the Riders reach the Division I state championship game. Delaware State News file photo

Four Henlopen Conference players are among the best 11 boys’ soccer players in the state.

Downstaters made up four of the 11 spots on the All-State Top XI. The conference was led by Sussex Tech’s Patrick Short, who was one of six Delawareans to earn Regional All-American honors.

Caesar Rodney’s Spencer Ott, Sussex Central’s Johnny Garcia and Laurel’s Jailon Gillespie also were on the Best XI.

Salesianum’s Drew Blackwell won the Player of the Year award. Andrew Rosenbaum (Archmere), Ndeh Tima (Appoquinimink), Oryem Kilama (Wilmington Friends) and Graeme Newcombe (Wilmington Charter) rounded out the Regional All-Americans.

Short scored 15 goals in 15 games for Sussex Tech after missing most of his junior season with a torn ACL.

Ott netted 17 goals in 19 games and helped the Riders reach the Division I state championship game. The senior forward was a part of a CR team that went 16-3 overall.

Gillespie, Laurel’s senior goalie, had numerous games with double-digit saves. He recorded 16 saves in contests against Sussex Central and Sussex Tech while also having 15 against CR. Garcia, a senior forward for Sussex Central, led the Golden Knights to a 9-5-1 regular season record and a berth in the Division I state tournament.

Four more downstate players made the All-State First Team, three of which were from Indian River.

The Indians had Erick Aguilera, Jordan Illian and Jared Cordoba on the First Team. Polytech’s Dermont Williamson also made it.

Ott wasn’t the only Caesar Rodney player honored on the All-State teams. Seniors Lyod Coutilien and Monroe Hite each earned a spot on the Second Team.

Sussex Academy placed the most players on the Second Team with Mike Daniello. Ryan Burke and Kyle Berdin each being honored.

John Whealton (Sussex Tech), Lucas Johnson (Cape Henlopen) and Luke Bogan (Milford) rounded out the downstate contingent on the Second Team.

Seven different Henlopen Conference schools were represented on the Third Team.

Kent County had three players made it as Spencer Price (Polytech), Lesthath Savage (Smyrna) and Luciana Gutierrez (Dover) were honored.
Alexis Lemus-Perez (Sussex Central), Brian Rodriguez (Delmar) Alex Cruz (Woodbridge) and Jax Cathell (Indian River) wrapped up the Third Team.




Drew Blackwell, Salesianum, (Player of the Year)

Andrew Rosenbaum, Archmere, (Regional All-American)

Ndeh Tima, Appoquinimink, (Regional All-American)

Oryem Kilama, Wilmington Friends, (Regional All-American)

Graeme Newcombe, Wilmington Charter, (Regional All-American)

Patrick Short, Sussex Tech (Regional All-American)

Aidan McDade, Appoquinimink

Jailon Gillespie, Laurel

Johnny Garcia, Sussex Central

Nate Pilson, Salesianum

Spencer Ott, Caesar Rodney


Keegan Miller, Appoquinimink

Eric Johnson, Middletown

John Murphy, Brandywine

Maddyan Ata, Newark

Moustapha Diaby, Christiana

Michael Aullon-Gonzales, Newark

Mike Albero, Archmere

Justin Lane, Wilmington Charter

Dermont Williamson, Polytech

Erick Aguilera, Indian River

Jordan Illian, Indian River

Jared Cordoba, Indian River

Zach Tull, Saint Andrew’s

Neehil Christian, Tower Hill

Matt Ziomek, Saint Mark’s

Colton Steele, Salesianum

Andy Raab, Concord

Colby Niggebrugge, Appoquinimink

MJ Graham, Salesianum


Raymond Kelly, Middletown

Alex Martinez-Ayala, Delcastle

Bill Wilson, William Penn

Jared Edge, St. Georges

Hayden Laster, Brandywine

Brandon Delgado, Dickinson

Adam Voigt, Newark

Daniel Trujillo, McKean

Carter Galbus, Archmere

Alex Torres, Conrad

Ryan McCann, Wilmington Charter

Brian Burns, Archmere

Lyod Coutilien, Caesar Rodney

John Whealton, Sussex Tech

Luke Bogan, Milford

Lucas Johnson, Cape Henlopen

Mike Daniello, Sussex Academy

Ryan Burke, Sussex Academy

Kyle Berdini, Sussex Academy

Evan Arai, Wilmington Friends

Logan Cameron, Saint Andrew’s

Phin Pilson, Tower Hill

Patrick St. Leger, Caravel

Callaghan Walsh, Salesianum

Mike Ranegan, Saint Mark’s

Alex Krumenacker, Salesianum

Hindovei Tucker, Appoquinimink

Monroe Hite, Caesar Rodney

Sean Lenderman, Saint Mark’s

Cole Schlee, Appoquinimink


Dominick Scioli, Appoquinimink

Cole McNally, Appoquinimink

Gabe Romero, Hodgson

Zach Pensel, St. Georges

Kevin Ramirez, Glasgow

Youssif Mohamed, A.I. duPont

Leo Claney, Brandywine

Scott Looby, Newark

Joyin Ojo, Newark Charter

Francisco Turcios, Conrad

Devan Patel, Newark Charter

Jonathan Daniels, MOT Charter

Alexis Lemus-Perez, Sussex Central

Spencer Price, Polytech

Luciana Gutierrez, Dover

Lesthath Savage, Smyrna

Brian Rodriguez, Delmar

Alex Cruz, Woodbridge

Jax Cathell, Indian River

Jack Taylor, Wilmington Friends

Aidan Donoho, Tower Hill

Nick Lilley, Saint Andrew’s

Angelo Sisofo, Saint Mark’s

Nick Balbierer, Salesianum

Keegan Walpole, Salesianum

Cody Niggebrugge, Appoquinimink

Sam Gattuso, Archmere

Ethan Hinds, Salesianum

Nicholas Triantafill, Archmere

Coleson Stewart, Middletown

Facebook Comment