Local Auto Racing: Five drivers win titles at Del. Speedway

DELMAR — Three point battles went right down to the wire and three drivers picked up their first wins of the season on Saturday night at Delaware International Speedway.

While the points are not official until mid-week, the following drivers won championships this season: Jamie Mills in Big Block Modifieds; Ross Robinson in Super Late Models; Scott Hitchens in the 602 Sportsman; Joe Warren in the Crate Late Models and James Hill in the Mod Lites.

In the 25-lap Big Block main, H.J. Bunting was on a mission from his 10th starting spot. After a couple quick cautions, he found himself up to fourth by lap five.

Bunting eventually made it all the way into the lead by lap 10. He finally pulled away to a comfortable lead as the defending champ drove to his first win of the season.

“I was starting to wonder if I was going to win one this year,” said Bunting. “It’s been a miserable season for Jake and the crew. We came out with this new car two weeks ago and we are starting to get it dialed in. I just wish that Jamie (Mills), Jordan (Watson) and the guys had been here tonight to just see where we stand.”

The 20-lap Super Late Model feature was a real barn burner.

Ross Robinson came into the event just 20 points ahead of Mark Pettyjohn. Robinson finished second behind Kerry King in the first heat while Pettyjohn ended up fourth, adding an additional 15 points to Robinson’s lead going into the main.

King started in third but, at the drop of the green, shot to the high groove and into the lead. He drove a flawless race to post his first win of the season.

Robinson’s sixth-place was enough to earn him his first championship at the track.

“I only slept about three hours last night,” said Robinson. “This has been a real up and down year. Destroying my primary car in the Battle of the Bay was a real setback. This car was never as good but thanks to everyone that helped it get up there.”

The Crate Late Models had a tight point battle coming into the final point race. Joe Warren, looking for his sixth championship, held just a 36-point lead over Sparky White and a 50-point lead over both Matt Glanden and Matt Hill.

In the end, David Pettyjohn held off Hill and drove to his second straight victory. Warren was able to climb to ninth, which was just enough to unofficially earn him his sixth crown by a mere five points.

In the 15-lap 602 Sportsman feature, the trio of Adam White, Nick Alberti and Scott Hitchens put on a great battle for the lead in the closing laps.

Alberti tried the high groove around White, which allowed Hitchens to slip by with one to go for second. White was not to be denied for his first career win as he held off Hitchens to the checked.

Hitchens, with five wins, had clinched his second championship prior to the race.

In the 15-lap Mod Lite feature, Kirk Miles, Sr. and Jake Nelson were involved in a wreck midway through the race.

The pair made hard contact with Miles starting to flip wildly up the track where he was contacted by Brian Gladden’s car while flipping through the air. Nick Nash also made hard contact.

Miles continued to flip off the turn. He emerged from the car under his own power but was badly shaken and complaining of pain in his stomach.

Miles walked to the ambulance but was transferred to Peninsula Regional Hospital by Delmar Volunteer Fire Company for treatment.

The race remain green down the stretch as James Hill drove away to his second consecutive championship and his ninth win of the season.

Truitt among U.S. 13 winners

Sunday’s 302 Nation Cash Days featured the heads up, no time, nitros vs. turbo vs. pro charger action. But it also provided the final tuneup for the top racers at U.S. 13 Dragway as they head to this Thursday through Sunday’s IHRA Division 1 (Patriots) Bracket finals at Maryland International Raceway in Budds Creek, Md.

Posting wins on Sunday were Phillip Truitt of Salisbury, Md. in Top ET, Harvey Powell of Parsonsburg, Md. in Mod ET, Jamar Chandler of Frankford in Pro Bike, Jay Parrott, III of Delmar in Street, Stephanie Valdivia of Pittsville, Md. in Hot Rod and Morgan Larkin of Salisbury in Jr. Dragster. Top ET and Mod ET eliminations were held in the eighth-mile in prep for the Bracket Finals.

It was an all-door slammer final in Top ET as Truitt in his ‘80 Malibu pulled up against Robin Lewers in her ‘71 GMC. Truitt sealed the deal at the start with a .004 reaction light and drove to the win running a 6.729/96.13 on a 6.71 dial-in. Lewers had a .026 light and broke out with a 7.875/85.44 on a 7.86 dial.

Facebook Comment