Local Auto Racing: Hollidge closes ‘Battle of the Bay’ with victory

DELMAR — Thursday night was the third and final race at in the tri-track “Battle of the Bay,” with this session held at Delaware International Speedway. Dale Hollidge of Mechanicsburg, Md., became the third different winner in the Super Late Models after narrowly avoiding disaster just prior to halfway in the 35-lap main.

On lap 15, Geoff Carey got crossed up coming off turn four in front of the leader, Ross Robinson. Carey clipped the rear of the leader’s car as Hollidge shot to the outside to avoid the pair.

The contact was just enough to turn Robinson head on into the wall. The car narrowly missed Hollidge, slamming the wall hard with the front then spinning and hitting the wall a second time.

Finally, the rear end came to rest under the flagstand. Robinson climbed from the badly damaged car very upset but uninjured.

Hollidge was the new leader, eventually pulling away to the $3,000 win.

“I hated to see Robinson go out like that,” said Hollidge. “I had just pulled out to get some clean air on the nose of my car when I saw the yellow car get sideway and start coming down the track. I didn’t see anything else until I came around and saw the Robinson’s car was trashed.”

In the Crate Late Model feature, Mike Franklin grabbed the lead on a third-lap restart.

Cautions on laps 11 and 16 kept Matt Hill on Franklin’s back bumper. But, on each restart, Franklin opened some daylight over Hill.

The Winchester, Va., driver made no mistakes as he drove to his first win this season, worth $1,000.

“When (Joe) Warren and Hill got together, I made contact with Hill with my right front,” said Franklin. “After that the car actually handled better.”

James Hill qualified on the pole for the 15-lap Mod Lite feature and was never seriously challenged. He led wire-to-wire for his eighth win of the season. In the 12-lap Little Lincoln Vintage/Street Stock feature, T.J. Henry drove to the overall win in his Street Stock with Joe Tracy coming on strong in the closing laps to finish first among he Little Lincoln Vintage cars.

Russell’s son shines at ‘13’

Friday night was a good night of racing at U.S. 13 Dragway as Dover’s Jamie Russell took the win in Top ET.

His victory came just one week after his father, Vernon, won in Delmar.

Jamie Russell drove his ’97 Dragster to the starting line against the ’64 Chevy Nova of Glenn Reese. Russell made short work of it with a hole shot .011 reaction light and a run of 7.452/177.61 on a 7.44 dial-in for the win.

Reese was on his dial but it wasn’t enough as he ran a 10.326/128.05 on a 10.32 dial. With the victory Russell vaulted into the point lead ahead of Ben Parks.

Chad Thurman of Seaford won in Mod ET and defending champion, Harvey Powell of Felton, won in Pro Bike.

Powell rode his ’08 Suzuki up against Brain Wongus, also on a ’08 Suzuki, in the Pro Bike final. Powell had the better reaction and rode to the win with a 9.172/122.06 on a 9.00 dial.

In the Jr. Dragsters it was Chase Huber of Queen Anne, Md., winning Jr. Dragster 1 over his sister, Autumn. Keith Riddle of Millsboro took the win in Jr. Dragster 2.

Other winners included Michael Jefferson in Street and Jerry Wilkerson of Delmar in Hot Rod.

Friday night will be the final Friday of racing before switching back to Sundays with Top vs. Mod and a full Summit Super Series program. Gates open at 3:30 p.m. with time runs at 4:30 and elimination at approximately 8 p.m.


Battle of the Bay Super Late Model: 1. Dale Hollidge; 2. Tyler Horst; 3. Donald Lingo, Jr.; 4. Amanda Whaley; 5. Mark Pettyjohn; 6. Kerry King; 7. Ricky Elliott; 8. Nick Davis; 9. Robbie Emory; 10. Rob Schirmer; 11. Kellie Lewis; 12. Bob Geiger; 13. Dylan Evans; 14. Dale Murphy; 15. Geoff Carey; 16. Ross Robinson; DNS: Jason Dean.

RUSH Crate Late Model: 1. Mike Franklin; 2. Matt Hill; 3. Sparky White; 4. Mike Wharton; 5. Darren Alvey; 6. Matt Glanden; 7. Trevor Collins; 8. Chuck Bowie; 9. Matt Tarbox; 10. John Emory; 11. Scott Tessman; 12. Charles Shawver; 13. Joe Warren; 14. Jamie Eichholz; 15. Brandon Sturgis; 16. Richard Harden; 17. Zac Weller; 18. Chip Disharoon; 19. Wes Clifton.

Mod Lite: 1. James Hill; 2. Ray Gulliver; 3. Curt Miles, Jr.; 4. Kirk Miles, Sr.; 5. Jake Nelson; 6. Brian Short; 7. J.C. White; 8. Jerry Barker; 9. Brian Gladden; 10. Aaron VanVorst; DQ: Tim White; DNS: Steve White.

Little Lincoln/Street Stock: 1. T.J. Henry (Street Stock); 2. Joe Tracy; 3. Landy Adams; 4. Mel Joseph, Jr; 5. Kirk Lawson; 6. Tanner Marvel; 7. Matt White; 8. Wesley Smack; 9. Bunky White; 10. Brooks Fleetwood; 11. Sean Smith (Street Stock); 12. Ryan Walson; 13. Jarrod Millman (Street Stock).

Facebook Comment