Local roundup: C-W defeats M.O.T-Blue for Walt Bowers tourney title

Camden-Wyoming downed M.O.T.-Blue, 12-1, to win the championship in District I’s Walt Bowers baseball tournament on Monday night.
Starting pitcher Brady Anderson struck out four in 2.1 innings for Camden-Wyoming.

Leading the way offensively for C-W were Rhett Lancaster (1 RBI, 1 run), Evan Watams (1 hit, 2 runs, 1 RBI), Evan Eathan (1 hit, 2 RBI), and Kaden McCoy (2 runs).

For M.O.T.-Blue, Nolan Henry and Matthew Lappert both had hits and Nick Austin scored a run.

Camden-Wyoming 14, Felton-Harrington 0: Winning pitcher Jordan Simms had 15 strikeouts in five innings in the semifinals Sunday.

Quincy Darling went 3-for-3, while Jack Zimmerman and Chase Fleegal each had two hits. Rhett Lancaster, Kaden McCoy, Darius Jack and Evan Easton all had singles.

Aiden Young had an infield single for Felton-Harrington.

M.O.T. Blue 10, M.O.T. Red 6: Chase Holston, Huner Walsh, Jude Collins and Nolan Henry all had doubles as Blue rallied with eight runs in the top of the sixth inning for the semifinal win. Cameron Crowe added two singles and Matthew Lappert had one. Pitchers Hunter Skelton and Ethan Egloff each had five strikeouts.

Red pitcher Grady Anderson had nine strikeouts. Anderson, Elijah Burke, Jaxen Lloyd, Connor Fitzgerald and Logan Czerwinski had singles.

Felton-Harrington 10, Smyrna-Clayton 5: Winning pitcher Luke Hamill had six strikeouts and reliever Bruce Lomax for Felton-Harrington in a first round game Saturday.

Hamill hit a two-run triple and Young had a two-run double as Felton-Harrington scored eight runs in the bottom of the second inning. Young, Brian McElwee, Dustin Russum, Ethan Stafford, Gabe Rivera, Chase Johnson, Brian Thompson and Jax Osika all scored runs in the outburst to erase a 3-0 deficit.

Derek Gomez, Carter Byler, Timothy Pepeta, Warren Coates and Kamryn Ellingsworth all scored runs for Smyrna-Clayton. Coates had a single and double, and Tyler Harris singled.

Deak Deakins tournament

Camden-Wyoming/Gold 11, Milford 0: Shane Powell had three hits with two RBI and two runs in the C-W/Gold victory.

Also leading Camden-Wyoming/Gold were Jaidrian Sanchez (4 RBI), Brody Hinkle (2 runs, 1 hit, 1 RBI) and Julius McCray (2 hits, double, 2 runs),

Cole Bunting, who played strong defense at shortstop, and Tristen Willey both had hits.


7-9 tournament

Smyrna-Clayton 19, M.O.T.-Red 9: Smyrna-Clayton captured the District I title with the victory.

Pacing Smyrna-Clayton were Laniah Wright (3-for-3, 4 RBI), Norah Kelly (3-for-3, 2 RBI), Kennedy Mareno (3-for-3, triple, 4 RBI), Kaitlyn Brierly (4-for-4, 2 RBI), Paxtyn Dixon (3 hits), Eva Munson (2 hits, 3 RBI), Cara Macreal (2 hits), Madisson Pierce (2 hits) and Jaylen Ryan (2 hits, 2 RBI).

M.O.T.-Red was led by McKenna Riley (2 hits, double), McKenzie Malloy (2 hits), Gracie Rictico (2 hits, double), Lucy Ponde (2 hits) and Dizya Savage (2 hits).

Lynn Deakins tournament

Camden-Wyoming 16, M.O.T. 14: Madison Hunt doubled in the winning run as Camden-Wyoming won the tourney title.

Reliever Siara Maldonado limited M.O.T. after the first inning while Jayda Mayan had a key bunt.

Sophia Smith scored three runs for M.O.T. while shortstop Erin Mueller played strong defense.

Local golf

Barron leads Del. Amateur: Peter Barron, a 42-year-old from Mays Landing, N.J., fired an opening-round 68 to take a two-shot lead as the Delaware Amateur got underway on Monday.

Barron was one of only four players to score under par in first round of the 72-hole tournament being played at Odessa National in Townsend.

Fieldstone’s Bob Bechtold is in second place with a 70 while Chesapeake Bay’s Zachary Barbin and Fieldstone’s Joe Tigani are tied for third with 71s.

Wyoming resident Jay Whitby, who is trying to become the first player to win the Amateur four years in a row, is tied for 11th after shooting a first-round 77. The tourney continues today before concluding with two rounds on Wednesday.

College basketball

Wesley to open at Towson: For the third time in the last four years, the Wesley College men’s basketball team is going to face a member of the NCAA Division I Colonial Athletic Association.

Coach Dean Burrows announced on Monday that the Wolverines will open the season on Nov. 11 at Towson. Wesley played at Delaware last year and at Elon two years before that.

“Our program is once again beyond excited and blessed to have the opportunity to be able to compete against a highly-respected Towson program led by Coach (Pat) Skerry,” stated Burrows. “His teams are known for their toughness and for getting after it on the floor, so we know what we are getting into. This is a great opportunity for our program to see where we are at when mid-November comes around and an experience our program will always try and provide our guys with.”

Entering their first season in the newly-formed Atlantic East Conference, the Wolverines are coming off their 11th consecutive berth in the Capital Athletic Conference Tournament in the 2017-18 season. Wesley returns nine players from last year’s team, led by All-CAC honoree Brian Cameron.

Facebook Comment