Local roundup: Drass among 2018 Wesley Athletics Hall of Fame inductees

Mike Drass, shown coaching the Wesley College football team during a game last November, took the Wolverines from a small-college afterthought to a program that reached the NCAA Division III semifinals six times between 2006-14. (Wesley College photo)

Former football coach Mike Drass will be one of six individials inducted into the Wesley College Athletics Hall of Fame this fall.
The induction will be part of Wesley’s Homecoming festivities, which start on Oct. 26.

Joining Draass in the Class of 2018 are Larry Bryant, Jr. ‘03 (men’s basketball), Ryan Buckland ‘08 (baseball), Katherine Cole Pavlik ‘06 (cross country), Kyle Savidge ‘08 (women’s soccer) and Brooke Tadlock ‘11 (field hockey).

Drass accumulated a record of 229-61-1 with 14 NCAA Division III Tournament appearances, including the current stretch of 13 straight NCAA berths. He also served as Wesley’s Director of Athletics from 2005 until May 2018.

Bryant was a four-time All-Pennsylvania Athletic Conference honoree. Wesley’s Male Athlete of the Year in 2003, Bryant was the program’s leader in scoring and free throws made at graduation with 1,791 points (now ranks third) and 405 free throws (now ranks second).

He was also was second in steals (224, still second), second in three-pointers (160, now fourth), third in rebounding (641, now sixth) and fifth in assists (212, now seventh).

Buckland was a three-time all-conference second-team pitcher and is Wesley’s all-time leader in wins (26) and games started (42). At graduation, Buckland led in innings pitched (256.2, now third), second in appearances (50, now ninth), third in winning percentage (.650, now sixth), third in strikeouts (228, now fourth) and fourth in earned run average (4.28, now 11th).

A four-time all-conference runner, Pavlik was a two-time All-PAC first-team selection in 2000 and 2001 and an All-PAC second-team honoree in 2002 and 2003.

Savidge was a four-time all-conference selection and was named the PAC Rookie of the Year. She is the all-time leader in career points (111) and goals (47) in program history. She is also tied for third in career assists with 17.

Tadlock was the first player in program history to be named to the All-American team after being named to the womensfieldhockey.com All-America second team and Longstreth/NFHCA Division III third team in 2010. She ranked third in goals (53, now fourth), third in points (123, now fourth) and ninth in assists (17, now 10th).


American Legion

Post 1 wins state title again: Top-seeded Delaware Post 1 won its second straight state championship with a 10-1 win over the Post 10 Generals at Wilson Field on Sunday.

The title sends Post 1 to the American Legion Mid-Atlantic regional in Purcell, Va. The Generals topped Middletown Post-25, 7-3, earlier in the day to reach the finals.

College softball

Steele named Hens’ head coach: Marshall’s Jen Steele was hired as the University of Delaware’s new softball head coach on Monday.

Steele spent the previous year at Marshall where she led the Thundering Herd to a third-place finish in the East Division of Conference USA with a 13-9-1 league mark.

Prior to Marshall, Steele coached at Jacksonville (2015-17) making an eight-win improvement while leading the Dolphins to an appearance in the Atlantic Sun Tournament during her first season. During her final year in Jacksonville the Dolphins won 30 games.

Steele also served as the head coach at Division III Randolph College, and was named the Old Dominion Athletic Conference Coach of the Year in 2009 after leading the team to its first winning season and its first trip to the conference tournament. She then served two years overseeing the pitchers and catchers as an assistant coach at George Mason.

Facebook Comment