Polytech’s DeMora earns state softball Player of Year honor

Polytech High’s Whitney DeMora was named the state Player of the Year as 12 Henlopen Conference players were named to the first team on this year’s All-State softball squad.

The first-team All-State first baseman, DeMora had already been named the Gatorade Player of the Year for Delaware.

Other downstaters named to the first team by the Delaware Interscholastic Coaches Association were catcher Sydney Ostroski (Cape Henlopen), second baseman Brooke Stoeckel (Sussex Central), third baseman Rosa’lynn Burton (Caesar Rodney), outfielder Mya Maddox (Lake Forest), outfielder (at large) Kaelyn Press (Smyrna), third baseman (­AL) Taylor Collins (Sussex Tech), shortstop (­AL) Avery Wheatley (Delmar), outfielder (­AL) Rajene Bowe (Milford), pitcher (­AL) Hayley McCabe (Sussex Central), pitcher (­AL) Taylor Pechin (Polytech) and pitcher (­AL) Alyssa Ball (Caesar Rodney).

DeMora batted .582 with 11 home runs, 27 runs scored and 29 RBI this past season for the Panthers. She also drew 16 walks and collected 23 extra-base hits, recording a .681 on-base percentage and a 1.400 slugging percentage.

“Whitney is an outstanding hitter,” said Smyrna coach Nicki Shirey. “We definitely give the sign to pitch around her at all cost. Sometimes that doesn’t even matter. In our last matchup, she took a very low, way-outside pitch and slammed it well over our fence, leaving us all in awe.”

DeMora has signed a National Letter of Intent to play at Wilmington University this fall.


All-State team

First team

P-Mackenzie Short, Appoquinimink    Jr.

C-Sydney Ostroski, Cape Henlopen    Sr.

1B-Whitney DeMora, Polytech    Sr.

2B-Brooke Stoeckel, Sussex Central    Sr.

3B-Rosa’lynn Burton, Caesar Rodney    Sr.

SS-Kendra Ziemba, Hodgson    Sr.

OF-Kierstin Fallers, Padua    Sr.

OF-Taylor Coleman, Appoquinimink    Jr.

OF-Mya Maddox, Lake Forest    Jr.

OF/­AL-Kaelyn Press, Smyrna    So.

P/­AL-Holly Brooks, Caravel    Sr.

3B/­AL-Taylor Collins, Sussex Tech    Sr.

1B/­AL-Noelle Holiday, Red Lion    Sr.

SS/­AL-Avery Wheatley, Delmar    Jr.

OF/­AL-Rajene Bowe, Milford    Jr.

SS/­AL-Samantha Esper, Caravel    Sr.

P/­AL-Rachel Pritchard, Concord    Sr.

P/­AL-Hayley McCabe, Sussex Central    Jr.

P/­AL-Taylor Pechin, Polytech    Sr.

P/­AL-Alyssa Ball, Caesar Rodney    Jr.

Second team

OF-Julia Bomhardt, Indian River    So.

C-Daniela Solis, Wilmington Christian    Sr.

DP-Jennifer Sieminski, Caravel    Sr.

P-Sarah Bessel, Conrad    Jr.

1B-Madison Watson, Sussex Tech    Jr.

OF-Kaylee Hazewski, Red Lion    Sr.

P-Abby Cunningham, Padua    Jr.

1B-Brooke Miller. Appoquinimink    So.

P-Taylor Wroten, Sussex Tech    Fr.

P-Riley Shields, Cape Henlopen    Sr.

3B-Rachel DiMarcello, St. Georges    So.

3B-Alison Clemons, Middletown    So.

1B-Kylie Quirk, DMA    Sr.

3B-Brooke Glanden, Lake Forest    So.

Third team

2B-Emily Proffitt, Caravel    Jr.

SS-Jude McGough, Newark Charter    Jr.

C-Brooklynne Johnson, Hodgson    So.

C-Rachel Seivard, St, Georges    So.

UT-Jordyn Virden, Cape Henlopen    Jr.

C-Shannon Lord, Sussex Tech    Jr.

OF-Alexus Johnson, DMA    So.

2B-Jordan Scout, Appoquinimink    Sr.

SS-Taylor Gillis, Wilm. Charter    Fr.

C-Chelsey Ward, Sussex Central    Sr.

SS-Caitlin Baxter, Padua    Fr.

C-Hannah Williams, Padua    So.

P-Antonia Browning, Ursuline    So.

SS-Taylor Cappella, Smyrna    Sr.

OF-Alexa Proffitt, Caravel    Sr.

2B-Morgan Dodge, Polytech    Sr.

SS-Nicole Hovatter, Sussex Tech    Sr.

1P-Alexis Novotny, DMA    So.

Player of the Year: Whitney DeMora, Polytech

Coach of the Year: John Wells, Sussex Central

Team Sportsmanship Award: Newark

Facebook Comment