Roundup: Flacco heads 2016 UD Athletics Hall induction class

Joe Flacco

Joe Flacco

Athletes from 13 different sports, five All-Americans, three athletes with professional sports experience, four former conference Players of the Year, and four former coaches highlight the newest induction class of the University of Delaware Athletics Hall of Fame announced Thursday afternoon.

The 20th induction class will be honored in an invitation-only ceremony and reception for family and friends as part of Homecoming Weekend festivities on campus on Friday, Oct. 28. The honorees will also be recognized at halftime of the Delaware vs. Towson football game at Delaware Stadium the following afternoon, Oct. 29.

The Class of 2016 features representatives from every decade since the 1950s and the sports of football, baseball, men’s lacrosse, field hockey, volleyball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s indoor track & field, and men’s and women’s outdoor track & field. Three of the inductees are native Delawareans and six currently reside in the state. The list also includes natives of Canada, Minnesota, New Jersey, Ohio, and Pennsylvania.

The 10-person class is led by one of the Blue Hens’ most famous alumnus in current Baltimore Ravens standout quarterback and Super Bowl XLVII MVP Joe Flacco, who starred for Delaware in 2006-07. The list also includes All-American baseball infielder and former New York Yankees farmhand Brian August; All-American and current professional men’s lacrosse all-star Curtis Dickson; former cross country and track & field head coach Jim Fischer; former three-sport standout and football and men’s lacrosse coach Mickey Heinecken; field hockey All-American Erica LaBar; former UD football lineman and longtime Blue Hen defensive coordinator Ed Maley; women’s track & field record-breaking sprinter Tyechia Smith; women’s basketball and volleyball pioneer Diane Stetina; and former conference volleyball Player of the Year Colleen Walsh.


Caesar Rodney 3, Concord 1: The Riders earned the nonconference victory on Thursday 25-20, 25-25-19, 13-25. 26-24.

Facebook Comment