Roundup: Hens dominate inside in 93-78-home opening win over Wesley

Blue Hen guard Anthony Mosley drives for a layup against Wesley Friday night. (Delaware sports information/Mark Campbell)

Delaware dominated in the paint and led comfortably over the final 30 minutes as the Blue Hens posted a 93-78 win over Wesley College during the Blue Hens’ home opener Friday night at the Bob Carpenter Center.

Delaware (2-1) scored 72 points in the paint and held a commanding 44-27 rebounding advantage, including 16 offensive boards. The Blue Hens shot 56.7 percent from the floor, shooting over 55 percent in both halves.

Six Blue Hens reached double figures led by sophomore guard Ryan Daly, who finished with team-highs of 23 points and nine boards. Anthony Mosley and Derrick Woods each contributed 11 points while Eric Carter, Chyree Walker and Skye Johnson all added 10 apiece.

Delaware led for the final 37 minutes of the game, and was up double figures during the last 25 minutes of the contest. The Blue Hens led by as many as 18 points in the opening half, before settling for a 51-36 advantage at the break.

The Hens’ Ryan Daly drives against the Wolverines’ Paul Clemons. (Delaware sports information/Mark Campbell)

The Wolverines got within 59-49 with 14:16 to play but would get no closer, as the lead eventually grew to a game-high 20 at 86-66 at the 3:09 mark.

Brian Cameron led all scorers with 30 points on 11-of-19 shooting. Cameron knocked down 4-of-7 from three-point range and went 4-for-5 from the free throw line. He also pulled down six rebounds, dished out two assists and stole the ball twice.

Evan Anderson and JW Lawson joined Cameron in double figures for the Wolverines. Anderson netted 16 points, including draining 9-of-10 from the free throw line. Lawson was 4-of-6 from the floor, hit his only three-point attempt and went 4-of-7 from the charity stripe to total 13 points. Anderson handed out four assists while Lawson reeled in four boards.

Derick Charles tallied seven points off the bench. Paul Clemons recorded five assists and two steals for the Wolverines.

College football

Lee, Woodruff, Drass earn NJAC award: Sophomore running back E.J. Lee, freshman defensive end Stefon Woodruff and head coach Mike Drass collected major New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) awards and 15 Wesley College football players were recognized on All-NJAC teams for 2017.

Lee earned NJAC Offensive Player of the Year honors. Lee finished the regular season tops in the NJAC in rushing yards (1,384), rushing average per game (138.4), rushing touchdowns (20), all-purpose yards (1,564) and all-purpose yards per game (156.4). Lee was the only NJAC player this season to tally over 1,000 all-purpose yards. In the NCAA rankings, Lee ranks fifth in rushing touchdowns, total touchdowns, and scoring. He also ranks 10th in the NCAA in rushing yards and 11th in rushing yards per game. Lee was named Co-NJAC Offensive Rookie of the Year in 2016.

Woodruff received the NJAC Defensive Rookie of the Year award. He led the NJAC in sacks with (11.0) and finished the regular season second in tackles for loss (18.0). Woodruff totaled 50 tackles during his freshman season.

Drass was named NJAC Coach of the Year. It is the first time that Drass has earned the NJAC Coach of the Year award and the 13th time that Drass was picked up a Coach of the Year award. In his 25th season as head coach of the Wolverines, Drass led the Wolverines to their third consecutive NJAC Championship and their first outright conference championship to earn their 13th consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament. Drass has the highest winning percentage (.790) among active coaches in all divisions with over 210 career wins.

Lee joined junior quarterback Khaaliq Burroughs, junior receiver Alex Kemp, senior receiver James Okike, senior offensive tackle Matt Gono, senior defensive end Isaiah Ingram, senior linebacker Samer Manna, senior cornerback DaJahn Lowery and junior safety Cappadonna Miller on the All-NJAC First Team.

Senior defensive tackle Stephen Yorkman, senior linebacker Mike Sabino along with Woodruff were named to the All-NJAC Second Team.

Junior tight end Andrew Eagle, junior defensive tackle Nick Glover and sophomore kicker/punter Nick Bruhn landed on the Honorable Mention All-NJAC team.

Facebook Comment