Roundup: Navy slips by Delaware State 3-2 in baseball

Navy scored two runs in the bottom of the eighth inning in a 3-2 come-from-behind win over Delaware State 3-2 in a non-conference game at Max Bishop Stadium on Thursday.

The Hornets had taken a 2-1 lead with two runs in the top of the eighth.

Navy’s Leland Saile doubled in the tying and go-ahead runs off DSU reliever Terry Godfrey with none out in the eighth. Godfrey entered the game for Garrett Lawson, who started the inning.

Navy reliever Jett Meenach retired the Hornets in order in the top of the ninth to end the game.

Delaware State trailed 1-0 before scoring two runs in the top of the eighth to take the lead.

Evan Regez led off the eighth with a walk and Kwestin Smith reached base on a fielder’s choice to give the Hornets runners at second and first with none out. After an infield single by Todd Henry loaded the bases, Austin Bentley drew a walk, scoring Regez to tie the game at 2-2. The next batter, Ciaran Devenney lined into a double play, but Smith managed to score on the play to give the Hornets a 3-2 lead.

Meenach (2-1) threw two hitless innings of relief to earn the win for the Midshipmen. Godfrey (0-1) was tagged with the loss for the Hornets.

Navy opened the scoring with a run in the bottom of the first off DSU starter Travis Dill, who allowed just one hit and the run, while striking out two without a walk in three innings.

The Hornets had five hits in the game, including three by freshman Jared Gillis, who raised his average to .300 for the season.

College field hockey

Wesley players honored: The Zag Field Hockey/National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division III National Academic Squad and the National Scholars of Distinction were announced on Thursday.

Senior Allison Perugini and freshman Natalie Quigley earned Zag/NHFCA Scholars of Distinction honors. Senior Morgan Seymour, juniors Maggie Matthews, and Taylor Timmons and sophomores Kasey Fry, and Katelyn Harding joined Perugini and Quigley on the Zag/NHFCA National Academic Squad. Perugini and Seymour are four-time members of the National Academic Squad.

The Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad includes all student-athletes with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.30 or greater through the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year. To become a Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III Scholar of Distinction, a student-athlete has to achieve a cumulative GPA of 3.90 or greater through the first semester.

Facebook Comment