Roundup: Track records fall as NAPA Big Block Modifieds compete

Over 25 NAPA Big Block Modifieds from throughout the Northeast came to race at Delaware International Speedway on Saturday in preparation for Thursday night’s STSS Diamond State 50.

The night started off with track records falling in the AC Delco division, SR Pete & Sons Super Late Model division, and RUSH Crate Late Model division.

As the laps started working their way down in the Big Block Modifieds, Jester started creeping up towards the high line of the track. As he did, the lap times got faster, and the gap between him and leader Jamie Mills started shrinking.

With Mills on the low line, Jester planted his foot down on the Small Block, and drove around Mills on the high line. Cautions would continue down the stretch, but Jester would not be denied the win.

In the S.R. Pete & Son’s Super Late Models Andrew Mullins came out of nowhere, worked around the leader, and began to pace the field. It was a no-mistake-night for the driver out of Seaford and made it a two-win night for the family to go along with his brother-in-law’s win from the Big Block Modifieds.

On lap 16 of RUSH Crate Late Model feature, Joey Warren cranked things up, and shot around leader Matt Hill. Warren brought Mike Wharton in tow. Wharton got close enough to contend, but never had what it took to get around Warren, who went to claim his second win of the season.

Scott Hitchens led all 15 laps in the AC Delco feature and made it two for two on wins for the week after picking up a win earlier in the week at Georgetown Speedway.

James Hill drove a flawless race in the Modified Lite and went on to pick up his second win on the year.

Delmarva Chargers were on hand and Scott Calhoun held off a charge from Jay Sipple and a hard-charging Jerry Barker to pick up the win.

Ketterman wins at U.S. 13: Tommy Ketterman of Salisbury, Md. has been running well this season but on Sunday at U.S. 13 Dragway he was able to put it all together and take the win in Top ET.

Ben Garnett of Smyrna had his ‘71 Maverick in top form as he captured the Mod ET final for his first win of the season and Deltez Davis of Salisbury rode to his first win of the year in Pro Bike. The “List” racers were on hand and Danny Clarke moved into the number one spot.

Other winners on the day included: Michael Jefferson of Parsonsburg, Md. in Street; Urias Shockley of Dover in Hot Rod; Chase Huber of Queen Anne, Md. in Jr. Dragster 1 and Carter Foskey of Rhodesdale, Md. in Jr. Dragster 2.

College athletics

DSU announces ‘Hall’ class: A three-time Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference softball Player of the Year and the only Hornet to compete in the NBA highlight the Delaware State University Athletics Hall of Fame class announced Monday.

A total of 10 individuals and three teams will be honored during the annual hall-of-fame ceremony Sept. 22 at DSU’s Martin Luther King Student Center. The class will also be recognized during the Hornets’ football home opener against Norfolk State the following day.

Among the honorees is former Hornet softball standout Jordan Reid, selected as the MEAC’s Player of the Year during the 2010, ’11 and ’12 seasons; former Hornet basketball star Emanual Davis, who played for three NBA teams; former MEAC Baseball Player of the Year Scott Davis; track and field standout Dana (Walker) Armantrading and Vashon Winton, the quarterback of the Hornets’ 2007 MEAC  championship and NCAA Tournament football squad.

The Hall of Fame class will also include former Hornet head softball coach Jeff Savage, while three individuals, former Hornet athletes Tyrone Belford (football) and Jerry Kobasa (football) and long-time curator/equipment manager Arthur Wright will join the hall of fame as honorary members. Another former DSU athlete, Steve Ewing, will be inducted as a contributor.

Three Delaware State teams will also achieve hall-of-fame status this year: The 1964 CIAA champion baseball team, the 2006-07 MEAC champion women’s basketball squad and the 2007 football team.

College baseball

Hens’ Patten earns CAA honor: Delaware first baseman Nick Patten has earned Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Week for the second time this season.

Patten, batted .667 (8-for-12) with two doubles, a triple, two home runs, six runs scored, and nine RBI. The slugger became just the fourth player in UD history to hit for the cycle in Thursday’s 17-4 victory over College of Charleston when he went 5-for-5 with a pair of homers and seven runs batted in.

College track & field

Nine Wolverines in NCAAs: Nine men’s and women’s track & field athletes will represent Wesley College at the three-day NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field National Championships, which begins on Thursday at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio.

The men’s 4×100-meter relay will look to repeat as national champions. Greg Taylor and DaJahn Lowery return from the gold-medal winning tandem from a year ago. Joining the team at this year’s meet is Terrance Mack and Patrick Schlosser. Wesley will enter the race as the 12th seed with a qualifying mark of 41.32 seconds.

The women’s 4×400-meter relay team of Quadira Minus, Angel Hall, Briana Artis and Elizsha Streeter will look to earn their fourth All-American honor in their fourth trip to the NCAA meet. The quartet qualified for the event with the fourth-fastest time in the nation, clocking in at 3:46.77.

Roland Attoh-Okine returns to the NCAA Championships after qualifying as the 16th seed in the 110-meter hurdles.

Facebook Comment