Smyrna star Matthews named state’s boys basketball Player of the Year

Smyrna’s Caleb Matthews drives against Sanford’s Sean Williams in the first quarter during the state semifinal boys basketball game at the University of Delaware. Delaware State News/Marc Clery

Caleb Matthews has helped the Smyrna High boys’ basketball team achieve several firsts over the last several seasons.

On Friday, Matthews added another to the list.

Matthews was named the boys’ basketball state Player of the Year by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association. Ursuline’s Maggie Connolly was honored as the girls’ Player of the Year.

Matthews, a senior, is the first Smyrna player to earn the award. He became just the second player in school history to earn All-State First Team honors two years in a row, joining Paul Reynolds (2008 and 2009).

A combined 20 downstaters received All-State honors.

Cape’s Ian Robertson. Delaware State News/Marc Clery

Cape Henlopen’s Ian Robertson joined Matthews on the boys’ first team. Jyare Davis of Sanford, Nah’Shon Hyland of St. Georges and O’Koye Parker of Caravel rounded out the boys’ first team.

Smyrna places two more on the second team – Jaymeir Garnett and Greg Bloodsworth. Henlopen Conference players Randy Rickards (Cape Henlopen) and Hassan Corbin (Woodbridge) also were on second team while Shaft Clark of Caesar Rodney and Jaquan Burton of Sussex Tech made the third team.

Five more Henlopen Conference players received honorable mentions in Davione Robinson of Caesar Rodney, Eden Davis of Dover, Thomas Hoskins of Lake Forest, Khalil Bolden of Sussex Tech and Jamier Felton of Indian River.

Kylie Kornegay-Lucas was the only Henlopen Conference girl to make any of the top three All-State teams. The Caesar Rodney junior was a second-teamer.
Four more Henlopen Conference players landed on the honorable mention list with Smyrna’s Jayla Smith, Cape Henlopen’s Sydney Pedersen, Laurel’s Logan Handy and Sussex Tech’s Janiya Stevens all making it.

St. Thomas More rounded out the downstate contingent with both DahNaija Barnes and Aniah Patterson receiving honorable mentions.

Connolly, Conrad’s Julie Kulesza, Sanford’s Lauren Park-Lane, Concord’s Zhane Snow and St. Elizabeth’s Ber’Nyah Ward-Mayo represented the girls’ first teamers.

Facebook Comment