Wesley puts 14 on all-NJAC team

DOVER – Wesley College quarterback Joe Callahan was named the New Jersey Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year as 14 Wolverines were named to the all-conference team.

This is Wesley’s first year as a member of the NJAC in football.

110715-0295 by .

Joining Callahan on the NJAC first team are running back Jamar Baynard, wide receivers James Okike and Bryce Shade – who was also named first-team return specialist – tight end Kyle George, offensive linemen Austin Eagle, Matt Gono, and Matt Schmidt, linebacker Samer Manna, and cornerback Andre Connally.

A three-time NJAC Offensive Player of the Week selection, Callahan leads the league in passing yards per game (380.4), passing efficiency (195.4) and total offense (410.1 per game). He has rewritten the Wesley College record books and currently ranks 11th in NCAA Division III history in career passing yards with 11,624. His 43 passing touchdowns this season lead the country as well.

Baynard is Wesley’s first 1,000-yard rusher since 2010, running for 1,118 yards in 10 games. Okike and Shade have caught 15 and 16 touchdown passes, respectively, making them the highest-scoring wide receiver duo in NCAA Division III this season.

Kyle George leads all NJAC tight ends with 63.7 receiving yards per game and has scored five touchdowns. The Wesley offensive line has paved the way for Wesley to gain 603.5 yards of offense per game, the most in NCAA Division III.

Samer Manna led the Wesley defense and finished fourth in the conference in tackles with 98. Andre Connally finished second in the NJAC with five interceptions and has 12 passes defended. The corner also made 52 tackles this season.

NJAC all-conference second-team honors were earned by defensive tackles Brenton Barnes and Dan Laguerre. Wide receiver Alex Kemp and defensive end Roderick Caine each earned honorable mention honors.


Facebook Comment