Roundup: Woodbridge’s Anderson named Player of Year for girls’ hoops


Woodbridge High’s Altia Anderson was awarded the Delaware Player of the Year on Friday for girls’ high school basketball.

On the boys’ side, Dover High’s Jordan Allen made first team All-State. Smyrna’s Ja’vier Worthy was honored on the second team while St. Thomas More’s Aaron Scott was on the third team.

Altia Anderson of Woobridge High School.

Altia Anderson of Woobridge High School.

Sanford’s Mikey Dixon earned the boys’ Player of the Year award.

Honorable mentions for boys included Caleb Matthews from Smyrna, Henry Nesmith from Milford, Ian Robertson from Cape Henlopen, Terrence Woodlin from Dover and Cornell Corbin from Woodbridge.

Anderson was the only representative from the Henlopen Conference on the first team for girls’ basketball. Sussex Central’s Emily Truitt was named to the second team while Caesar Rodney’s Alissa Haith made the third team,.

Smyrna’s Melena Credle, St. Thomas More’s Aniah Patterson, Sussex Central’s Tatyana Jenkins and Laurel’s Logan Hanley were named honorable mentions.

College baseball

Delaware 22, Fairfield 6: The University of Delaware’s bats came out in full force on Friday afternoon as the Blue Hens battered Fairfield pitching with season-highs for runs and hits and walked away with a victory at Bob Hannah Stadium in the opener of a three-game weekend set.

Delaware (13-5), which won for the eight time in the last night games, banged out a 25 hits, including four home runs, to overwhelm Fairfield and hand the Stags (4-9) their fourth straight loss.

The teams will meet again on Saturday at Hannah Stadium with a doubleheader beginning at 12 noon. Both games will be nine-inning affairs.

Delaware enjoyed its most productive run output since a 25-10 victory over Hofstra at Hannah Stadium on May 8, 2010 and its highest hit total since banging out 25 safeties in a 18-10 win over Towson on Apr. 16, 2010.

The four home runs was one shy of the season-high five hit by Delaware against Maryland in a 10-8 victory on March 8.

Twelve Delaware players, including all nine starters, registered at least one hit led by right fielder Kyle Baker and centerfielder Kevin Mohollen with four each, first baseman Nick Patten with three, and four others players with two.

Mohollen also knocked in four runs, Patten had three RBI, and third baseman Diaz Nardo, designated hitter Doug Trimble (at left), and catchers Brian Mayer and Adam Rapp each knocked in two runs apiece.

High school basketball

Smyrna, Cape in Slam Dunk: Smyrna and Cape Henlopen High are among the four in-state boys’ basketball teams selected to play in next season’s Slam Dunk to the Beach.

Appoquinimink and state champion Sanford were also take part in the tournament, slated for Dec. 27-29 at Cape Henlopen.

“We are pleased to welcome back another crop of great programs that features Delaware’s top basketball talent,” said executive director of the Delaware Sports Commission, Chris Giacomucci. “It continues to be important to us to have teams representing each county in the state. We feel that our selection committee did an excellent job of identifying schools which will represent Delaware well in December.”

Slam Dunk will be back in Lewes for the third consecutive year. Each of the past two DIAA state champions has participated in Slam Dunk to the Beach.

The rest of the field for Slam Dunk will be announced this summer. The Delaware Sports Commission unveiled the four Delaware participants on Thursday night at the Blue-Gold All-Star banquet.

Smyrna went 18-4 this winter after reaching the state quarterfinals. The Eagles are expected to return Caleb Matthews and Jaymeir Garnett next season.

Delaware Hall of Fame

Profit among this year’s inductees: Former Caesar Rodney High basketball star Laron Profit, who went on to an All-American career at Maryland before playing in the NBA, is among a 10-person class of inductees into the Delaware Sports Museum and Hall of Fame that was announced on Friday.

Rich Gannon, the one-time Delaware standout quarterback who later was an MVP in the NFL, is also among the group that will be honored at a banquet on May 24 at the Chase Center on the Wilmington Riverfront.

The rest of the class includes: Wendy Zaharko (Squash for Princeton University and U.S. women’s teams); Mark Romanczuk (Baseball for St. Mark’s High, Stanford University, Team USA and Arizona Diamondbacks minor league teams); Sid Cassidy (Swimming for Salesianum and North Carolina State; athlete, coach and administrator); Jana Withrow (Field hockey for A. I. du Pont High, University of North Carolina, and Columbia University; athlete and coach); Jeff Taylor (Baseball for Newark High, University of Delaware, and New York Yankees farm teams; athlete, coach and scout); Nancy Keiper (Tennis and tutoring programs for youth, tennis and badminton for Drexel University, and coach at Archmere Academy); Bob Colburn (Baseball coach at St. Andrews School) and Dick Cephas (Track and Field for Howard High, University of Michigan, and U.S. military teams).

To purchase banquet tickets, e-mail Sue Holloway at or call 302-992-0550. Banquet tickets are $65 each. Tables for 10 are available. No tickets sold after May 15.

Facebook Comment